Golden Webinars – Simon White – "Dark Matter Halos"

The ‘Golden Webinars in Astrophysics’ series seeks to bring forefront research in astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology to the public in the English and Spanish language. Our speaker of the Golden Webinar on September 17th, 2020 was Simon White. The full title of his talk was “Dark Matter Halos: their Structure and Consequences over 20 Orders of Magnitude in Mass, from those of rich Galaxy Clusters down to that of the Earth”.

Dr. White has fundamentally shaped our understanding of the formation and evolution of structures in the Universe. Early in his career he has proposed that dark matter governs the galaxy formation and evolution process and that the properties of galaxies can be understood from build-up of gas condensations in the inner regions of hierarchically clustering dark matter halos. Together with Julio Navarro and Carlos Frenk he has formulated the famous NFW profile, which describes the structure of dark matter halos. He has written the first computer models to allow the quantitative comparison of theoretical models with astronomical observations and helped establish the viability of the current standard model for the evolution of cosmic structure, the so-called ΛCDM model. For his fundamental contributions to astrophysics he has received the Gruber Cosmology Prize in 2011and the 2017 Shaw Prize in Astronomy.

The panel of the September 17th, 2020 ‘Golden Webinar’ consisted of:
• Simon White – speaker
• Patricio González – interpreter, patricio.gonzalez.interprete@gmail.com
• Thomas H. Puzia – co-host, faculty at the Institute of Astrophysics (IA)
• Patricia Tissera – co-host, faculty at IA
• Ezequiel Treister – faculty at IA
• Nelson Padilla – faculty at IA
• Rohan Rahatgaonkar – Recent graduate student from the University of Toledo and Intern at Gemini Observatory
• Ornela Marioni – PhD Student at the Institute of Theoretical and Experimental Astronomy of the National University of Cordoba, Argentina
• Aída Wofford – Faculty at the National Autonomous University of Mexico
• Eleonora Sani – Astronomer at the European Southern Observatory, Cerro Paranal
• Jonathan Blazek – Professor of Physics at Northeastern University
• Konrad Tristram – Astronomer at the European Southern Observatory, Cerro Paranal
• Pascale Jablonka – Director of Science at CNRS and on leave of absence from Paris Observatory as Professor of Astrophysics at the Laboratory of Astrophysics of EPFL
• Leopoldo Infante – Director of Las Campanas Observatory
• Julio Navarro – Professor of Astrophysics, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
• Carlos Frenk – Director of the Institute for Computational Cosmology at Durham University, UK
• Ricardo Acevedo – Q&A manager, outreach team IA
• Daniela Fernandez – Q&A manager, outreach team IA
• Carol Rojas – Q&A manager, head of outreach Las Campanas Observatory

#goldenwebinars #IAPUC #AstroUC #darkmatter #halo #astronomy #science #universe #galaxies #hierarchical #merging #structure #formation

Follow us on:
♥ FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/AstrofisicaUC
♥ INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/astrouc_ia
♥ TWITTER: https://twitter.com/AstroUC
♥ WEB: http://astro.uc.cl